Midnight train to nowhere

As previously discussed, things have been a bit on the busy side of late, thus not much in the way of blogging. However, have no fear, running is ongoing.

On Saturday, in an effort to balance busyness and fitness, I biked in to work. You may recall that I own both high and low maintenance bicycles. I decided to ride my high maintenance bike, a shiny red Cannondale road bike. Yeah, not the end of the story.

So having not been out for a ride on the shiny bike since last summer, I had to put air in the tires. Well, turns out my pump, which has a handy valve for also pumping up balls for children, has now been reduced to that function alone. But, not to be foiled, I opened the brand new roadside bike pump I bought last year and have never used.

Pump. Pump. Pump. Okay, gauge says just under 100 psi, I usually fill to 110. Pump.

Pppfffffasssappfff. Oh. Nice. I blew up my inner tube.

Still not to be deterred, I found a new tube I’d been saving for just such an occasion. I wrestled the tire off, got the tube in, wrestled the tire back on.

Pump. Pump. Pump. Okay, gauge says just under 100 psi, I usually fill to 110. Pump.

Pppfffffasssappfff.

Yeah, so me and low maintenance bike went in to work after some cursing. I learned that 1 hr 10 mins of biking is equal in calorie burning to about 35 minutes of running. And considerably more fun.

So Sunday. Nothing too exciting. I ran 5k. It was alright. Pace was about 6:20. I think the most remarkable thing about it was I felt super slow throughout, but turns out I wasn’t.

Which brings me to today. Which starts with last night. Some work came to me late, which resulted in my leaving work just prior to midnight (ah, the tie-in to the title of the post). On the walk to the train I was thinking about how awesome it was that I was basically going to go home, go to bed, wake up, run, and go straight back to work. By awesome I mean shite.

I considered the alternative of sleeping a bit later, skipping the run, then going to work. But, on reflection, I decided that my general busyness and stress levels made the run perhaps the most important part of the day.

I ran 6k this morning. Pace was 6:33/km. I feel much better.

Later.

Leave a comment